December 21, 2010

The Honorable Harry Reid Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Jay Rockefeller United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Re: State Voice Group Comments on Proceeding with the USEPA's Greenhouse Gas Tailoring Rule under the Clean Air Act

Dear Senators McConnell, Reid and Rockefeller:

The "State Voice" group is a bipartisan, regionally diverse coalition of lead state environmental officials working together to promote a strong national climate change program in the U.S. We, the environmental regulators who comprise the State Voice group, write to express our strong opposition to any attempt to bar the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) from regulating greenhouse gas (GHG) pollution under the Clean Air Act (CAA). We hope you share our view that EPA action is needed to confront the dangers posed by unabated climate change.

For example, the Senate should not take action to revoke implementation of the USEPA's GHG "Tailoring Rule," which incorporates GHG considerations into Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) and Title V permitting programs for large stationary sources. We believe the USEPA's Tailoring Rule demonstrates the viability and flexibility of the CAA as a tool for reducing GHG pollution. It achieves a workable balance between the need to minimize additional administrative burdens imposed on states, to the extent possible, and our shared desire to achieve the environmental benefits while remaining consistent with the intent of the CAA.

The State Voice group is on record calling for a robust state-federal partnership as a key tenet of comprehensive national policy to combat climate change and build a new clean energy economy. The CAA will continue to provide an effective and proven framework for achieving national environmental and public health goals, including reducing GHG pollution. Over the past four decades, the CAA has delivered tremendous public health and environmental benefits, including significant reductions in emissions of oxides of nitrogen, lead, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, particulate matter and other pollutants. We believe that USEPA regulatory oversight of GHG emissions under this statute will deliver similar benefits.

We therefore strongly support the USEPA's efforts under the federal CAA to protect the health and welfare of the American people from the dangers of climate change resulting from GHG pollution. The Senate should guarantee that the well-established and proven tools of the CAA remain available to assist in achieving the nation's GHG reduction goals. It would be short-sighted for the Senate to hinder the use of one of the few effective approaches currently available to address our nation's critical energy and environmental challenges.

We ask you to ensure that all of the tools to tackle the tremendous challenge of climate change remain available. In particular, we urge the Senate to eschew any attempt to delay or otherwise limit USEPA's authority under the CAA to regulate GHGs.

Sincerely,

The Members of the State Voice Group

Mary D. Nichols, Chair

California Air Resources Board

Amey Marella, Commissioner

Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection

Collin O'Mara, Secretary

Delaware DNREC

Douglas P. Scott, Director

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency

Beth Nagusky, Acting Commissioner

Robert M. Summers, Acting Secretary

Maine Department of Environmental Protection

Maryland Department of the Environment

Laurie Burt, Commissioner

Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection

Tom Burack, Commissioner New Hampshire DES 20-2

Anny Air

Ron Curry, Secretary

Peter Iwanowicz, Acting Commissioner

New Mexico Environment Department

New York Department of Environmental Conservation

Dick Pedersen, Director

Ted Sturdevant, Director

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

Washington State Department of Ecology

cc: Senator Richard C. Shelby

Senator Jeff Sessions

Senator Lisa Murkowski

Senator Mark Begich

Senator John McCain

Senator Jon L. Kyl

Senator Blanche L. Lincoln

Mark L. Pryor

Senator Dianne Feinstein

Senator Barbara Boxer

Senator Mark Udall

Senator Michael Bennet

Senator Christopher J. Dodd

Senator Joseph I. Lieberman

Senator Thomas R. Carper

Senator Ted Kaufman

Senator Bill Nelson

Senator George LeMieux

Senator Saxby Chambliss

Senator Johnny Isakson

Senator Daniel K. Inouye

Senator Daniel K. Akala

Senator Mike Crapo

Senator Jim Risch

Senator Richard J. Durbin

Senator Roland W. Burris

Senator Richard G. Lugar

Senator Evan Bayh

Senator Charles E. Grassley

Senator Tom Harkin

Senator Sam Brownback

Senator Pat Roberts

Senator Jim Bunning

Senator Mary L. Landrieu

Senator David Vitter

Senator Olympia J. Snowe

Senator Susan M. Collins

Senator Barbara A. Mikulski

Senator Benjamin L. Cardin

Senator John F. Kerry

Senator Scott P. Brown

Senator Carl Levin

Senator Debbie Stabenow

Senator Amy Klobuchar

Senator Al Franken

Senator Thad Cochran

Senator Roger F. Wicker

Senator Christopher S. Bond

Senator Claire McCaskill

Senator Max Baucus

Senator Jon Tester

Senator Ben Nelson

Senator Mike Johanns

Senator John Ensign

Senator Judd Gregg

Senator Jeanne Shaheen

Senator Frank R. Lautenberg

Senator Robert Menendez

Senator Jeff Bingaman

Senator Tom Udall

Senator Charles E. Schumer

Senator Kirsten E. Gillibrand

Senator Richard Burr

Senator Kay R. Hagan

Senator Kent Conrad

Senator Byron L. Dorgan

Senator George V. Voinovich

Senator Sherrod Brown

Senator James M. Inhofe

Senator Tom Coburn

Senator Ron Wyden

Senator Jeff Merkley

Senator Arlen Specter

Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr.

Senator Jack Reed

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

Senator Lindsey Graham

Senator Jim DeMint

Senator Tim Johnson

Senator John Thune

Senator Lamar Alexander

Senator Bob Corker

Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison

Senator John Cornyn

Senator Orrin G. Hatch

Senator Robert F. Bennett

Senator Patrick J. Leahy

Senator Bernard Sanders

Senator Jim Webb

Senator Mark R. Warner

Senator Patty Murray

Senator Maria Cantwell

Senator Robert C. Byrd

Senator Herbert H. Kohl

Senator Russ Feingold

Senator Michael B. Enzi

Senator John Barrasso