Document Actions

NESCAUM Welcomes Nevada's Participation in the Multi-State Zero-Emission Electric Trucks Initiative

Contact: Paul J. Miller
NESCAUM Executive Director
March 31, 2022


The Northeast States for Coordinated Air Use Management (NESCAUM) welcomes the State of Nevada as the 17th state to join the Multi-State Medium- and Heavy-Duty Zero-Emission Vehicle (MHD ZEV) initiative, a coalition of states and other jurisdictions that are actively working together through a Multi-State ZEV Task Force facilitated by NESCAUM to develop a MHD ZEV Action Plan for rapid electrification of trucks and buses.

After passenger cars, trucks and buses are the second largest source of transportation sector greenhouse gas emissions, and a major contributor to harmful emissions of particulate matter and smog-forming pollutants. These emissions disproportionately impact low-income communities and communities of color that are located near ports and trucking distribution hubs and corridors.

Nevada joins 18 other jurisdictions participating in the MHD ZEV initiative – 16 states,1 the District of Columbia, and the Canadian Province of Quebec. On March 10th, the ZEV Task Force released a comprehensive draft Action Plan for a 45-day public comment period. During the coming months, Nevada will work with the other participating jurisdictions to incorporate public comments and finalize the Action Plan.

“Nevada’s participation further strengthens what is already a geographically diverse coalition of jurisdictions. NESCAUM and the ZEV Task Force look forward to working with Nevada as we take the next steps to support a growing market for electric trucks and buses,” says Paul Miller, Executive Director of NESCAUM.

NESCAUM is a non-profit association of the air quality control agencies of the six New England states, New Jersey, and New York. NESCAUM is providing technical and policy analysis to support the Task Force and the development and implementation of the MHD ZEV Action Plan.

# # #

1The states are California, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington.




This page was rendered in 0.0160000324249 second(s).